Pursuing the Presence, Purpose and Power of a closer walk with Christ


manger

How well we know the Christmas story, since wee ones our ears have heard.

About God’s Son born in a manger, no room was found according to the Word.

 

Today as we celebrate His Birthday, a familiar hymn rings out the reason for God’s Gift to all mankind.

The song written by Emily E. S. Elliott is named;

Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne

The chorus reads:

 O Come to my heart, Lord, Jesus; There is room in my heart for Thee

But when you read through to the last verse and stanza written below, the chorus changes.

 

Thou didst leave Thy throne and Thy kingly crown when Thou camest to earth for me;

But in Bethlehem’s home there was found no room For Thy holy nativity

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus; There is room in my heart for Thee.

 

Heaven’s arches rang when the angels sang, Proclaiming Thy royal decree

But in lowly birth didst thou come to earth, And in great humility.

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus; There is room in my heart for Thee.

 

Thou camest, O Lord, with the living word That shouldst set thy people free;

But with mocking scorn, and with crown of thorn, They bore Thee to Calvary.

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus; There is room in my heart for Thee.

 

When the heaven’s shall ring and her choir shall sing At Thy coming to victory.

Let Thy voice call me home, saying, “Yet there is room; There is room at my side for thee.”

My heart shall rejoice, Lord Jesus, when Thou comest and callest me for me.

 

Not only is there room in my heart for the precious gift of God’s only begotten Son, but there is room at his side. 

And we will rejoice when He comes and calls us home.

 

The more people who make room in their heart, the merrier!

And, there is always enough room at His side for one more.

I hope you are rejoicing in His indescribable Gift.

If not, I hope you soon will be rejoicing.

 

Merry Christmas!

 

 

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud