Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ


easter-eggs-2

Easter was a few days ago, but I’m still full of joy. I can’t help thinking about how much God loves me and how I was surprised by one of God’s special blessings.

After the 8 AM “Sunrise” service, church members and guests enjoyed choosing from a wonderful Easter buffet. It was filled with delectable egg casseroles, biscuits and gravy, pastries, fruit salads, cheesy potatoes, blueberry bagels with cinnamon cream cheese and colored Easter eggs. I chose a more conservative breakfast of fruit salad and 2 pastel yellow hard-boiled eggs.

I finished eating the first egg and felt satisfied. I thought I should put the second one back in the basket of eggs, but decided to eat it as well. I turned the egg with my fingers to find the large end for cracking and noticed a cross on it. I showed the cross on the egg to a couple of people I was sitting with. “Isn’t that nice?”, I said. “I wonder how it was put there? It didn’t look like something from a kit or an applique.”

After peeling the shell away I took a bite. I could hardly believe my eyes. The bite was in the shape of a heart! I again show some of the people at the table the heart-shaped bite on the egg and they thought it was neat.

I thought about the cross and asked the lady who made the eggs after the next morning service if she made any designs on the eggs she colored. She said, “A couple of them had swirls on them, but nothing fancy.” I told her about the cross on one of my eggs and she looked surprised. I commented that it must be my Easter blessing.

The heart-shaped bite and the cross on the egg reminded me of God’s love for us. John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever should believe in him, should not perish but have Everlasting Life.” Without the love of God, there would be no cross.

How about you? Has God shown you his love through his Son, Jesus? Did you receive an unexpected Easter blessing? Leave a comment at the end of this post.

Happy Easter, everyday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud