Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ


The flight home from North Carolina earlier this week was not one of my favorite flights. In fact, I said to myself, “I’ll never fly again.”

It was moments earlier I found myself on a higher plane with Jesus. He enveloped me in the clouds of peace, joy and assurance. The next moment the plane suddenly began dropping from the 28,000 foot height to God only knows how far. It was like I was at Cedar Point riding on the Demon-Drop with the seat belt suddenly pushing against my abdomen to keep me in when it stopped. Added to this fright-flight was a great deal of earth trembling turbulence further prolonging the terror until the plane landed.

Obviously we did land safely. Once I was no longer shook up I realized something. I was already safe. Spiritually, if I would have died or were to die at any second, I’d be absent from the body, but present with the Lord.

I know this because God’s Word confirms it and his Spirit gives me peace and assurance that I’m saved, therefore I am safe for all Eternity.

“Since we now have justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation” (Romans 5:9-11 NIV)

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God-not by works, so that no one can boast.” (Ephesians 2:8,9)

I am glad Jesus completed the work on the cross by dying for the whole world so that we may have everlasting life.

How about you? Are you glad for what he’s done for you? Can you say that no matter what, you are saved and therefore safe in Jesus?

Leave your comment below. I’d like to hear your story or your opinion on the matter.

Thank God for Safe Landings

Thank God for Safe Landings

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud