Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ


The title to this song with its catchy tune has recently side-tracked me to find it on-line and I railed it up over to this blog.

The first time I heard it was many years ago while watching a BW movie called “Stormy Weather”, starring Lena Horne and Cab Calloway.

This past week, I again encountered the title, but it was in my thoughts as I reflected on waiting until marriage to enjoy the fruits of love.

“Ain’t misbehaving’. I’m saving all my love for you.”

Many would say I’m old-fashioned and that times have changed, in fact, the majority of singles at some point in their lives have skipped the ceremony and rushed to the honeymoon.

I don’t want to appear as if I have always honored my parental and moral upbringing that can be found in the following passages of the New Testament. (I Corinthians 6:9-11 and 18-20 NIV)

Having sex before marriage is sin.

I like to think of keeping sex inside of the bounds of Holy Matrimony as the safe zone. Outside that protective boundary it is hazardous emotionally, physically and spiritually.

So, in a similar way, the words sung by Fats Waller, “I’m happy to be up on the shelf”, is how I feel. That part of love I put up on the shelf for the proper time.

Honoring God brings peace and happiness to my soul. If you are single and in a relationship, I hope you will choose a godly lifestyle and wait until marriage to delight in the gift of sex. You will never regret it.

I’m glad I can’t get the phrase of this song out of my head. “Ain’t misbehavin’, I’m saving all my love for you”. I rather fancy singing my choice.

Perhaps you will savor listening to the recording of “Ain’t Misbehavin” sung by Fats Waller in the video I’ve pasted below.

Comments on: "“Ain’t Misbehavin”" (3)

  1. Love that piano music. It makes me smile. Thanks!

  2. Great topic to bring up…Thinking of you beautiful lady 🙂

  3. Great points! We always seem to be surprised that the God of all existence, creation, and life itself could possibly know more than us. That intimacy within marriage is what is best for us and ultimately most satisfying for us!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud