Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ

New Mercies


” It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.”(Lamentaions 3:22-23 KJV)

I am thankful for the Lord’s new mercies every morning, especially this morning.

I drove out of my driveway and stopped at the stop sign on our street before getting ready to turn; I was transporting  my daughter to her day program, Solid Rock.

I looked both ways and then looked left again. The traffic was clear. But, the sign on the left corner, “Calvary Bible Holiness Church”, blocked part of my view and I decided to pull up a little to have a complete look. I did not have to do that, I was in the proper place just behind the stop sign, however, I felt I needed to. 

I am thankful for God’s faithfulness and that his mercies are new every morning, and his mercies were apparent to me especially this morning.

I slowly pulled forward a ways, then, a motorcycle went by. It must have been a Honda or Yamaha, it was quiet. I didn’t hear it coming, nor did I see the motorcyle before I pulled forward to get a better look.

Whew! I know it was God who kept us safe as well as the man on the motorcycle.

As a thought about his mercies and began to write this blog, I wondered if there were any incidences in my life spiritually, that requires a closer look,  some extra caution to avoid a crash of conflict.

I thought about the tendencies that I have in regards to sensitivities to being the hurt by others and how I collide with the turmoil until I work it out in prayer and can get back on track in my walk with Christ.

I would be consumed by them, if not for his compassion

So help me, God, to be careful in both the physical and spiritual realms.

Do you have a praise for the Lord today about his new mercies to you?

Comments on: "New Mercies" (2)

  1. Yes I praise the Lord for his wonderful mercies every day. For that moment when a friend needs someone to talk to, for the moment to connect with others… For every person that has been brought into my life for a reason, and for the moments that take my breath away. Praise God. I pray that we continue to pause and hear His voice 🙂

    • “With our eyes and ears open, and a heart tuned to him, we are more likely to breathe in his goodness, as one would breath in the heady aroma of a flower. Take time to breath in God’s goodness, it’s even better than taking time to smell the roses. Inspired by his goodness and quoted from the essence in yours truly.” Virginia Cradlebaugh 4-20-12

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud