Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ

Perfect Peace


“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.” (Isaiah 26:3 NIV)

Peace can be elusive. What is peace? According to Dictionary.com, ” Feeling of the mind, free from annoyance, distraction, anxiety and obsession, etc.” Some of the words describing peace are: serenity, tranquility, calm, quiet or stillness.

I recently participated in a Women’s Bible Study at the church I attend. I sensed a peace and joy in the first 10 or 15 minutes. Then, I had to open my mouth. Out came the anxiety of what I had been thinking and praying. 

What I found to be interesting in looking back on the evening, beside the fact that the women were gracious in bearing with me, I started the evening with peace, but the more I said, the greater I became upset and lost my tranquility. I don’t think that’s what speaking your peace means. I was not speaking peace.

Wouldn’t you know it, I am in the midst of researching and writing about peace and here I was far from it. I decided to eliminate the distractions of  some e-mails and the subjects that caused anxiety in my heart.

I think you’d agree it is far more pleasant and peaceful to surround yourself with the things that portray peace, such as this picture. I am able to minimize information that may cause me to lose my peace, thus keeping peace where it needs to be, in my heart and in my mind. 

What about you? If you have some peace to speak, leave a comment.

Comments on: "Perfect Peace" (3)

  1. Vanessa said:

    Virginia,
    I understand… Peace comes from within…. Someone told me a few weeks ago I should let the good in and the bad out. the Good in – God; and wonderful thoughts of love, and then the bad out – the evil ones voice 🙂

    Love ya sister
    Vanessa

    • In his Presence there is fullness of joy, Whatever is lovely, whatever is true…I think staying focused on God’s word and continually praying are 2 of the most powerful tools we have.

  2. Since I’m not-so-good at saying “no”, it has caused me great anxiety over the years. But today…. I give myself permission to do just what God asks, and let everything else go. He doesn’t put all this anxiety on me; the world does. In fact, He has told me a number of times in the last year…. “STOP WORRYING.” I think that’s great advice from God, and I find that everything I am tempted to pick up that worry, I stop and say “no” to that. Thanks God! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud