Pursuing the abundance of a closer walk with Christ


   This morning, February 24th, 2012, on my way home from dropping my daughter, Rachel, off from her last day at Blick Clinic, I saw the Republic Recycling truck picking up the canisters of refuse. They usually start at the end of the street and work their way to the beginning. Not today. They not only were reversed, but they arrived hours later, at 10:30 A.M. instead of 5 A.M. 

    I thought they would be picking up a day later because of Presidents day,  which was observed on Monday, so I didn’t put my garbage out the night before. They were next to pick mine up, even though there were 3 houses between stops. I  slowed my car to a stop where they were and said to one of the workers, “I thought you would be picking up tomorrow because of the Holiday. I didn’t put mine out.” He  said, “Don’t worry Ma’am, we’ll wait for you.” I was surprised at his reply. I thought to myself, “Good, I’ll have enough time to get it down to the pick-up location.” I parked my car and saw the man walking up the length of my driveway and  he collected my canister and began to roll it down to the truck. “You are so kind to do this for me. I’ll walk down with you so I can bring it back right away.” He added, “Other customers usually call us to come back and get it, so it saves us a trip.”

I count this a blessing from the Lord. It was unusual, out of the ordinary and left me with a feeling of gratitude. To God be the Glory!

“Heavenly Father, bless the men that took the extra time and extra steps. I thank you for the verse that tells me you know what plans you have for me.”  ‘For I know the plans I have for you,”  declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’  (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)  “Help them know you have a plan for them and help them to embrace the blessings of your peace, love, forgiveness and the gift of everlasting Life.”

I think there are many things Jesus continues to do each day we live, according to John 21:25.

“Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.”  

The miracles, healings, answers to prayer and blessings did not stop when Jesus died on the cross for our sins. He was resurrected and now sits at the right hand of the Father making intercession for us. I repeat, He continues to do many things.

What blessing has God shown you that is out of the ordinary in your life today? Leave a comment at the end of this post.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud